Rick Seymour

Westmorland Constituency

Here I describe the rational for retaining the Westmorland & Lonsdale constituency, which is due for deletion, as part of the Boundary Commission’s consultation into the 1st draft of the boundary review following the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2011.

I propose to retain much of the existing Westmorland and Lonsdale Constituency, including Ambleside, Windermere and Kendal, but extend it southward beyond it’s current boundary of Milnthorpe and Arnside, to include Carnforth & Bolton-le-Sands. The 2010 constituency contained approximately 66815 voters, therefore the inclusion of the Northern part of Lancashire brings this constituency within the quota allowance with a population of 79695.

I see the needs of the people of Silverdale, Carnforth and Bolton-le-Sands as being similar to those of Milnthorpe and Ambleside, who require an MP who will protect the GreenBelt and nationally protected green spaces.

The inclusion of wards to the south naturally follows the communication route of the M6 with the Carnforth junction (35) giving easy access to these new constituents and retention of this constituency means this constituencies strong link to South Lakeland District council.

Ward List

Ambleside and Grasmere
Arnside and Beetham
Burton and Holme
Coniston and Crake Valley
Grange North
Grange South
Kendal Castle
Kendal Far Cross
Kendal Fell
Kendal Heron Hill
Kendal Highgate
Kendal Kirkland
Kendal Mintsfeet
Kendal Nether
Kendal Oxenholme and Natland
Kendal Parks
Kendal Romney
Kendal Stonecross
Kendal Strickland
Kendal Underley
Lyth Valley
Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale
Windermere Applethwaite and Troutbeck
Windermere Bowness North
Windermere Bowness South
Windermere Town

Total number of electors – 79695

 Boundaries created with my Boundary Mapping Tool

Map: Crown Copyright Ordnance Survey. Content: Creative Commons BY-ND

Leave your Reply: